» 我们的历史

我们的历史

密西西比移民权益联盟 (MIRA) 是一个会员制联盟,旨在扩大在密西西比州的弱势移民的权利和机会–并通过例子和推广告知国家政策辩论移民改革MIRA工程通过提供法律服务,支持移民在行使自己的权利。, 组织, 在秋季形成的MIRA宣传及公众教育。 2000 响应的需求快速增长的, 主要是拉丁裔移民人口在密西西比州,通过不断的警惕和活动, MIRA成员已经成功地主张在密西西比的反移民立法的失败, 包括英语只票据和其他压迫措施.

在舞台上的教育, MIRA已成功教育立法,并通过了一项法案,坚持 普莱勒v. 李四, 保证入学公立学校的移民儿童,无论状态如何,我们还成功地倡导双语教育在密西西比州的框架, 老师许可的开放信贷移民教师为他们的教育和经验的过程,我们曾经举办成功尝试惩罚移民工人其雇主领取“社会保障不匹配的”字母的, 包括帮助全国各大雇主谈判SSA响应政策。MIRA已成功发起并主办的会议,与当地执法机构处理移民, 包括种族貌相, 监狱和拘留条件, 和确保双语法庭记者和其他辅助人员。我们协助我们的法律项目通过我们的选民在美国获得临时和永久居留权和公民权, 我们捍卫个人在移民法庭.

在卡特里娜和丽塔飓风所造成的破坏之后, 米拉是在倡导的前沿过移民的影响来重建密西西比沿海风暴和移民工人的权利。 10,000 传单分布在移民社区与MIRA的免费电话号码。,MIRA的组织者面临业主试图驱逐移民租户, FEMA利益主张, 红十字会和其他机构, 面临批发驱逐和滥用红十字会的住房董事拉美裔。通过全国社区伙伴资金, MIRA至少分布在 $25,000 在紧急运输, 住房, 食物, 衣物和医疗基金。到财政年度结束时,我们会见了数百名不法承包商滥用移民工人,并帮助工人展现在街道和文件要求无偿工作。 2006, 米拉曾帮助移民工人收回超过 $1 万回工资及未付金钱判决.

米拉教育和组织我们的选民面对雇主的工作, 文件EEOC索赔, 并征求协助中美. 劳动部门的合作以及其他政府和社会机构加强移民和贫困社区工作不仅MIRA发起倡导移民工人及其家属, 但我们也支持低收入贫困家庭和工作举措, 识别和帮助新兴的领导者,以了解他们的权利和正当渠道追求一个公正的结果。移民领袖, 特别是, 确定定期举行的内部会议和拉票过程中的努力。他们通知MIRA移民社区的内部和外部的挑战, 以及提出解决方案,在社会上, 并提出建议,带回本公司董事会审议和实施.

评论已关闭.

Home » Our History

Our History

The Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance (MIRA) is a membership-based alliance which seeks to expand the rights and opportunities of vulnerable immigrants in Mississippi–and by example and extension inform the national policy debate over immigration reform.  MIRA works to support immigrants in the exercise of their rights through providing legal services, organizing, advocacy and public education.  MIRA was formed in the Fall of 2000 in response to the needs of the rapidly growing, largely Latino immigrant population in Mississippi.  Through constant vigilance and activity, MIRA members have successfully advocated the defeat of anti-immigrant legislation introduced in Mississippi, including English-only bills and other oppressive measures.

In the arena of education, MIRA has successfully educated the Legislature and helped pass a bill to uphold Plyler v. Doe, guaranteeing the enrollment in public schools of immigrant children regardless of status.  We have also successfully advocated for a framework for bilingual education in Mississippi, and for the opening of the teacher licensing process to credit immigrant teachers for their education and experience.  We have organized successful responses to attempts to penalize immigrant workers whose employers receive “Social Security No-Match” letters, including helping to negotiate SSA response policies with major national employers.  MIRA has successfully initiated and sponsored meetings with local law enforcement agencies regarding treatment of immigrants, including racial profiling, jail and detention conditions, and securing of bilingual court reporters and other support personnel.  We assist our constituents through our Legal Project to obtain temporary and permanent residence and citizenship in the United States, and we defend selected individuals in the immigration courts.

In the wake of the devastation wrought by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, MIRA was in the forefront of advocacy for the rights of immigrants impacted by the storm and immigrant workers who came to rebuild coastal Mississippi.  Over 10,000 flyers were distributed in immigrant communities with MIRA’s toll free number.  MIRA’s organizers confronted landlords attempting to evict immigrant tenants, advocated for benefits from FEMA, the Red Cross and other agencies, and confronted wholesale evictions and abuse of Latinos by Red Cross shelter directors.  Through the funding of a national community partner, MIRA distributed at least $25,000 in emergency transportation, housing, food, clothing and medical funds.  We met with hundreds of immigrant workers abused by unscrupulous contractors and helped the workers demonstrate in the streets and file claims for unpaid work.  By the end of FY 2006, MIRA had helped immigrant workers recoup more than $1 million in back wages and unpaid money judgments.

The work of MIRA to educate and organize our constituents to confront employers, to file EEOC claims, and to solicit the assistance of the U.S. Department of Labor as well as other cooperative government and community agencies strengthens the immigrant and working poor community.  Not only does MIRA initiate advocacy for immigrant workers and their families, but we also support initiatives by low-income and working poor families, identifying and helping emerging leaders to understand their rights and the proper channels by which to pursue a just result.  Immigrant leaders, in particular, are identified by regularly-scheduled house meetings and during canvassing efforts.  They inform MIRA of internal and external challenges to the immigrant community, as well as proposed solutions within the general community, and make recommendations that are brought back to our Board for consideration and implementation.

Comments are closed.