» 存档

事件类别的文章

事件 »

[2 十月 2013 | 没有评论 | ]
The Fight For Economic Justice

十月 2, 2013
上周三, 十月 16, 我喝了中美. 参议员伯尼·桑德斯和当地社区领袖的一个市政厅会议. 本次会议将采取地方积臣医疗购物中心, 350 在. 伍德罗·威尔逊博士, 社区一楼会议室 5:30 PM – 7:30 下午下载并流传着一句话!

 

事件, 标题 »

[15 八月 2013 | 没有评论 | ]
7th Annual MIRA & SCLC Unity Conference

由比尔·钱德勒 & 吉姆埃文斯
Updated October 21, 2013
 
第一次走到一起, and linking the drug crises in the U.S. 和墨西哥, Professor Michelle Alexander and Señor Javier Sicillia will be joined by other nationally known advocates and organizers at the 7th Annual Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance/Southern Christian Leadership Conference Unity Conference  which will take place Friday and Saturday, 十一月 15-16, 2013 at Fondren Hall located at 4330 Ň. 州街, Jackson and the Smith Robertson Museum and Cultural Center, 528 布鲁姆街, 杰克逊.  The theme of this year’s

事件 »

[11 六月 2013 | 没有评论 | ]
MIRA Cookout!

上周六邀请您加入我们的行列, 六月 15 从 1 p.m. 直到 4P.Mm. ,为一MIRA社区的野炊,以答谢多年来支持我们的工作,, 引进米拉社区的新成员. (孩子们总是欢迎!)
亮点:
免费食品和饮料
了解MIRA
成为会员
照片会员卡 $30
特别嘉宾
联系: 601-968-5182 转. 6
 
卡恩浅田整个社会
亲爱的朋友们, 被邀请的野炊MIRA周六举行, 15 六月 1:00-4:00 P.M!我们想展现我们伟大的感谢所有支持你给了我们超过 …

行动项目, 事件, 面MIRA »

[7 六月 2013 | 没有评论 | ]
State Rep. Gregory Holloway makes surprise visit at MIRA Community Circle Meeting in Hazlehurst, Miss.

本地在黑泽尔赫斯特移民最近有一个惊喜,欢迎访问国家代表格雷戈里ł. 霍洛威, 锶. 在密西西比河Hazlehurst的移民权益联盟上周六举办的社区圈会议, 5月22日. 国家代表霍洛威, 老, 长期的朋友和盟友的密西西比河移民权益联盟和密西西比河立法黑人核心小组的主要成员, 在当地Taqueria的突访, 讲西班牙语的移民,不要害怕成为在当地社区更积极参与政治热情鼓励小型聚会.
国家代表 …

行动项目, 事件 »

[20 二月 2013 | 没有评论 | ]
Historic oversight corrected: Film ‘Lincoln’ inspires look into slavery vote

 
杰里·米切尔
二月 20, 2012
礼貌号角总帐在线 (链接)
奥斯卡奖提名的“林肯,“它描绘了通过第13条修正案废除奴隶制的政治斗争, 在密西西比州正式批准修订本月初发挥了重要作用 - 一个半世纪后.
故事开始, 这并不奇怪, 在电影院.
去年十一月, 博士. 兰詹巴特拉, 密西西比医学中心大学的神经生物学和解剖学的科学副教授, 看到史蒂芬·斯皮尔伯格的电影,想知道后来发生了什么事时,国投在批准“公约”.
那天晚上,, 巴特拉 - 谁成为一个土生土长的印度 …

行动项目, 事件, 面MIRA »

[28 一月 2013 | 没有评论 | ]
Civic Engagement Day Statement, January 23, 2013

胡安·卡洛斯·库克, 组织者, MIRA
一月 26, 2013
美国总统奥巴马说得很清楚,在他的就职演说上周一,移民改革已经是他的第二任期的议程的核心.
预计在未来的几周内,总统积极推动的估计方法来创建最终获得公民身份的途径 11 万非法移民已经在这个国家.
参议院多数党领袖里德(Harry Reid)在最近的一次采访中说,移民改革是最重要的问题在参议院的日程安排.
我们是所有美国居民 …

行动项目, 事件, 标题 »

[22 一月 2013 | 没有评论 | ]
Civic Engagement Day

我们的第一个动员事件 2013 不久 – 下周三, 1月23日, 我们将提出一个统一的在国会大厦前. 进步党, 主办方, 从整个国家的活动家将加入密西西比的移民工人和家庭发出一个强烈的信息,密西西比州立法者.
 
我们鼓励您带着您的家人 (包括儿童!) 和朋友公民参与日. 我们希望密西西比州立法者看, 近距离和个人, 他们通过的法律的人,将不会进行.
 
我们将聚集在的MIRA办公室在杰克逊 …

行动项目, 事件 »

[2 十一月 2012 | 没有评论 | ]

11月6日短短一个星期之遥–确保你的工具,你需要一个成功的选举日. 无论您是要帮助人们找到他们的投票站地点或寻找最后一分钟出票资源, 阅读准备为选举日!

 

谷歌投票搜索:

“ 2012 谷歌的投票表决搜索工具是现在生活! 它使用官方的信息由州议会选举办公室和国务秘书能够给选民提供电流的投票信息. 输入你的地址,找到您的投票地点和方向. 使用选票摘要“菜单栏上的权利 …

事件, 移民新闻 »

[23 八月 2012 | 没有评论 | ]
Travelling for peace

杰克逊, 密西西比州 - 周二, 8月28日 , 和平与正义和尊严“大篷车”将在杰克逊停止其横跨美国的旅程,因为它的工作原理创建一个双民族运动,反对毒品战争失败,已造成超过 70,000 在过去的五年中死在墨西哥.
墨西哥诗人哈维尔·西西里的带领下, 来自墨西哥的受害者家属会讲故事的对毒品的战争人员伤亡, 同时构建强大的,同时也是在美国与当地社区的关系 …

行动项目, 事件, 移民新闻 »

[3 七月 2012 | 没有评论 | ]
Deferred Action for Undocumented Youth

请加入我们的会议关于递延无证青年行动
 
找出你是否有资格到文件,你所需要的文件递延行动没有移民文件之前,你的16岁生日,如果你来到美国,你还没有达到你的31岁生日.
 
来吧,带上你的朋友和家人!
 
星期六, 七月 7, 2012
2 p.m. 至 4P.Mm.
密西西比移民权益联盟
612 Ň. 州街, 2二楼,
杰克逊, MS 39202
 
联系:
检察官帕特里夏冰601/354-9355分机. 3, …

Home » Archive

Articles in the events Category

events »

[2 Oct 2013 | No Comment | ]
The Fight For Economic Justice

October 2, 2013
On Wednesday, October 16, join U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders and local community leaders for a town hall meeting. The meeting will take place in the Jackson Medical Mall, 350 w. Woodrow Wilson Dr., on the 1st floor Community Meeting Room from 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM.   Download and spread the word!

 

events, Headline »

[15 Aug 2013 | No Comment | ]
7th Annual MIRA & SCLC Unity Conference

by Bill Chandler & Jim Evans
Updated October 21, 2013
 
Coming together for the first time, and linking the drug crises in the U.S. and Mexico, Professor Michelle Alexander and Señor Javier Sicillia will be joined by other nationally known advocates and organizers at the 7th Annual Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance/Southern Christian Leadership Conference Unity Conference  which will take place Friday and Saturday, November 15-16, 2013 at Fondren Hall located at 4330 N. State Street, Jackson and the Smith Robertson Museum and Cultural Center, 528 Bloom St., Jackson.  The theme of this year’s …

events »

[11 Jun 2013 | No Comment | ]
MIRA Cookout!

You are invited to join us on Saturday, June 15 from 1 p.m. until 4 p.m. for a MIRA Community Cookout to show appreciation for supporting our work over the years and, to introduce MIRA to New Members of the Community. (Kids are always welcome!)
Highlights:
Free Food and Drinks
Learn about MIRA
Become a Member
Get Photo Membership Card $30
Special Guests
Contact: 601-968-5182 ext. 6
 
Carne Asada Para Toda La Comunidad
¡Queridos amigos, están invitados a una comida al aire libre que realizará MIRA el sábado, 15 de junio de 1:00—4:00 P.M! ¡Quisiéramos mostrarles nuestro gran aprecio por todo el apoyo que ustedes nos han brindado a lo largo …

action items, events, faces of MIRA »

[7 Jun 2013 | No Comment | ]
State Rep. Gregory Holloway makes surprise visit at MIRA Community Circle Meeting in Hazlehurst, Miss.

Local immigrants in Hazlehurst recently had a surprise welcome visit by State Representative Gregory L. Holloway, Sr. at the Community Circle Meeting hosted by the Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance in Hazlehurst on Saturday, May 22nd. State Representative Holloway, Sr., a longtime friend and ally of the Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance and a key member of the Mississippi Legislative Black Caucus, made the surprise visit at the local taqueria, enthusiastically encouraging the small gathering of Spanish-speaking immigrants to not be afraid to become more politically engaged in their local community.
State Representative …

action items, events »

[20 Feb 2013 | No Comment | ]
Historic oversight corrected: Film ‘Lincoln’ inspires look into slavery vote

 
Jerry Mitchell 
February 20, 2012
Courtesy  Clarion Ledger Online (link)
Oscar-nominated “Lincoln,” which depicts the political fight to pass the 13th Amendment abolishing slavery, played a role in Mississippi officially ratifying the amendment this month — a century and a half later.
The story opens, not surprisingly, in a movie theater.
Last November, Dr. Ranjan Batra, associate professor of neurobiology and anatomical sciences at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, saw the Steven Spielberg film and wondered afterward what happened when the states voted on ratification.
That night, Batra — a native of India who became …

action items, events, faces of MIRA »

[28 Jan 2013 | No Comment | ]
Civic Engagement Day Statement, January 23, 2013

By Juan Carlos Cook, Organizer, MIRA
January 26, 2013
President Barack Obama made it very clear during his inaugural address on Monday that immigration reform is already a centerpiece of his second-term agenda.
In the coming weeks the president is expected to aggressively push for ways to create an eventual pathway to citizenship for the estimated 11 million undocumented immigrants already in this country.
Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid said during a recent interview that immigration reform was the most important issue on the Senate’s schedule.
We are all residents of the United States of …

action items, events, Headline »

[22 Jan 2013 | No Comment | ]
Civic Engagement Day

Our first mobilization event of 2013 is coming up shortly – Next Wednesday, January 23rd, we’ll present a unified front at the Capitol. Progressives, organizers, and activists from across the state will join with Mississippi’s immigrant workers and families to send a strong message to Mississippi Legislators.
 
We encourage you to bring your family (including children!) and friends to Civic Engagement Day. We want Mississippi Legislators to see, up close and personal, the people that will be effected by the laws they pass.
 
We’ll gather at the MIRA office in Jackson at …

action items, events »

[2 Nov 2012 | No Comment | ]

November 6th is just a week away–ensure you have the tools you need for a successful Election Day. Whether you’re helping people find their polling place or looking for last minute get-out-the-vote resources, read on to prepare for Election Day!

 

Google Poll Finder:

The 2012 Google Poll Finder tool is now live! It uses official information from state elections offices and Secretaries of State to provide voters with current voting information. Type in your address to find your polling place and directions. Use the Ballot Summary Menu Bar on the right …

events, Immigration News »

[23 Aug 2012 | No Comment | ]
Travelling for peace

Jackson, Mississippi – On Tuesday, August 28th , the “Caravan for Peace with Justice and Dignity” will stop in Jackson on its voyage across the United States as it works to create a bi-national movement against the failed drug war that has left more than 70,000 dead in Mexico in the last five years.
Led by Mexican poet Javier Sicilia, families of victims from Mexico will tell the story of the human toll of the war on drugs, while building powerful ties with local communities in the United States that are also …

action items, events, Immigration News »

[3 Jul 2012 | No Comment | ]
Deferred Action for Undocumented Youth

Please Join Us for a Meeting Regarding Deferred Action for Undocumented Youth
 
Find out whether you are eligible to file and what you need to file for deferred action if you came to the United States without immigration papers before your 16th birthday and you have not yet reached your 31st birthday.
 
Come and bring your friends and family members!
 
Saturday, July 7, 2012
2 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance
612 N. State Street, 2nd Floor,
Jackson, MS  39202
 
Contact:
Attorney Patricia Ice at 601/354-9355 Ext. 3, …