Zuhause » Archivieren

Artikel in den Gesichtern der MIRA Kategorie

Aktionselemente, Geschehen, Gesichter MIRA »

[7 Juni 2013 | No Comment | ]
State Rep. Gregory Holloway makes surprise visit at MIRA Community Circle Meeting in Hazlehurst, Miss.

Lokale Einwanderer in Hazlehurst vor kurzem hatte eine Überraschung Begrüßung durch Vertreter des Staates Gregory L besuchen. Holloway, Sr. auf Gemeinschaftsebene Kreis Treffen vom Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance in Hazlehurst am Samstag Gastgeber, 22. Mai. Vertreter des Staates Holloway, Sr., ein langjähriger Freund und Verbündeter des Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance und ein wichtiges Mitglied der Legislative Mississippi Black Caucus, machte den überraschenden Besuch in der örtlichen taqueria, begeistert die Förderung der kleinen Versammlung von spanischsprachigen Einwanderern keine Angst, sich politisch in ihrer lokalen Gemeinschaft engagiert.
Vertreter des Staates …

Gesichter MIRA, Schlagzeile »

[20 Sea 2013 | No Comment | ]
True Life Stories from Immigrants Engaging their Legislators

 
Von MIRA Organizer Juan Carlos Koch
23. Januar, 2013
"Me? Sprechen Sie mit einem Gringo Politiker ... in diesem Gebäude? Willst du mich verarschen?"Es war eine verdächtige Achtel in der heiseren Stimme. Der 20-something Felipe de la O, ein strammer sechs Fuß ein Bauarbeiter mit robusten Muskeln, weigerte sich zu glauben, dass er innerhalb der Mississippi State Capitol in Jackson Schritt, ohne sofort verhaftet und durch Ausländerbehörden gekarrt am Haupteingang. Aber nachdem er, dass seine Freundin, Leticia, wurde nicht Rückzieher, de la O widerwillig seine Meinung geändert und, verbraucht durch Angst, …

Aktionselemente, Geschehen, Gesichter MIRA »

[28 Jan 2013 | No Comment | ]
Civic Engagement Day Statement, January 23, 2013

Nach Juan Carlos Koch, Organizer, VISIER
Januar 26, 2013
Präsident Barack Obama machte sehr deutlich, während seiner Antrittsrede am Montag, dass die Einwanderung Reform bereits ein Kernstück seiner zweiten angelegte Agenda.
In den kommenden Wochen wird der Präsident voraussichtlich aggressiv nach Wegen, um eine eventuelle schieben Weg zur Staatsbürgerschaft zu schaffen für die geschätzte 11 Millionen illegale Einwanderer bereits in diesem Land.
Mehrheitsführer im Senat, Harry Reid sagte in einem aktuellen Interview, dass die Einwanderung Reform das wichtigste Thema auf der Senats Zeitplan war.
Wir sind alle Einwohner der Vereinigten Staaten von …

Gesichter MIRA, Vorgestellt »

[21 Juni 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Father Jerry Tobin

Vater Jerry Tobin wurde in das Ministerium in 1960er in Chicago ordiniert. Er war ein junger Mann, dann, und fand sich völlig überrascht von der Bürgerrechtsbewegung, die aufsteigen um ihn gemacht. Er beschreibt, dass er, wie die meisten weißen Menschen zu der Zeit, gehalten wurde völlig unwissend über die Ungerechtigkeiten und Ungleichheiten, dass Afro-Amerikaner konfrontiert. Er erkannte, dass es an der Zeit, sich selbst zu erziehen war. Obwohl er bereits arbeitet mit zwei Pfarreien in African American Gemeinden, entschied er, dass er einen mehr strategischen Ansatz zur sozialen nehmen wollte …

Gesichter MIRA, Vorgestellt »

[5 Juni 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Sorie Tarawally

Juni 4, 2012

Sorie Tarawally ist ein Dual-Bürger, teilen Nationalstolz zwischen seinem Heimatland Sierra Leone und sein neues Zuhause, die Vereinigten Staaten. Er kam, um in diesem Land 1972 Nach dem Abitur in seiner Heimatstadt Freetown, und seine erste Station war ein Bachelor-Abschluss an der Rutgers University in New Jersey. Sorie wusste, dass er wollte, um einen Abschluss in Rechtswissenschaften verfolgen, und sah bei einer Vielzahl von juristischen Fakultäten in der südöstlichen.
 
Die Universität von Mississippi (Ole Fräulein) war seine endgültige Wahl; er war sich der 1962 Unruhen auf …

Gesichter MIRA, Vorgestellt »

[31 Mai 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Roberta Avila

Mai 30, 2012
Soziale Gerechtigkeit Aktivismus nur sinnvoll, Roberta Avila. In einer Weise,, es ist immer ein Teil ihres Lebens. Ihre Eltern emigrierten in die USA als Landarbeiter während einer Zeit, als die Grenzen waren ziemlich porös; sie lebten und arbeiteten in einer kleinen Gemeinde in Colorado. Obwohl sie selbst nicht Migranten, sie waren immer mit Leiharbeitern verbunden, und Roberta erinnert das Mitgefühl ihrer Eltern diejenigen, die kämpfen, um zu überleben wurden erweitert, selbst als sie konfrontiert ihre eigenen Schwierigkeiten.
 
Während sie noch jung war, Herausforderung Bruder Magdaleno …

Gesichter MIRA, Vorgestellt »

[14 Mai 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Brenda Scott

In dieser Nacht, Brenda Scott war müde. Sie hatte einen langen Tag der Arbeit in der Vicksburg Distributionszentrum für Frauen Kinder und Kinder (WIC). Obwohl ihre Arbeit war anspruchsvoll, die Bezahlung war so niedrig, dass sie einen zweiten Job zu nehmen brauchte nur um weiterzukommen. Also, wenn sie ihr Verschiebung bei WIC, sie gingen zu Domino Pizza, wo sie angeblich eine Lieferung Verschiebung bis zum frühen Morgen Stunden arbeiten. Aber an diesem Tag entschied sie war einfach zu erschöpft und gestresst, und musste nach Hause gehen für …

Home » Archive

Articles in the faces of MIRA Category

action items, events, faces of MIRA »

[7 Jun 2013 | No Comment | ]
State Rep. Gregory Holloway makes surprise visit at MIRA Community Circle Meeting in Hazlehurst, Miss.

Local immigrants in Hazlehurst recently had a surprise welcome visit by State Representative Gregory L. Holloway, Sr. at the Community Circle Meeting hosted by the Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance in Hazlehurst on Saturday, May 22nd. State Representative Holloway, Sr., a longtime friend and ally of the Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance and a key member of the Mississippi Legislative Black Caucus, made the surprise visit at the local taqueria, enthusiastically encouraging the small gathering of Spanish-speaking immigrants to not be afraid to become more politically engaged in their local community.
State Representative …

faces of MIRA, Headline »

[20 Mar 2013 | No Comment | ]
True Life Stories from Immigrants Engaging their Legislators

 
By MIRA Organizer Juan Carlos Cook
January 23rd, 2013
“Me? Talk to a gringo politician…in that building? Are you kidding me?” There was a suspicious quaver in the husky voice. The 20-something Felipe de la O, a strapping six-foot one construction worker with rugged muscles, refused to believe that he could step inside the Mississippi State Capitol in Jackson, without being immediately detained and carted off by immigration authorities at the front entrance. But after seeing that his girlfriend, Leticia, wasn’t backing down, de la O reluctantly changed his mind and, consumed by trepidation, …

action items, events, faces of MIRA »

[28 Jan 2013 | No Comment | ]
Civic Engagement Day Statement, January 23, 2013

By Juan Carlos Cook, Organizer, MIRA
January 26, 2013
President Barack Obama made it very clear during his inaugural address on Monday that immigration reform is already a centerpiece of his second-term agenda.
In the coming weeks the president is expected to aggressively push for ways to create an eventual pathway to citizenship for the estimated 11 million undocumented immigrants already in this country.
Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid said during a recent interview that immigration reform was the most important issue on the Senate’s schedule.
We are all residents of the United States of …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[21 Jun 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Father Jerry Tobin

Father Jerry Tobin was ordained into the ministry in the1960s in Chicago. He was a young man then, and found himself totally taken aback by the Civil Rights movement that was rising up around him. He describes that he, like most white people at the time, was kept totally ignorant of the injustices and inequalities that African-Americans faced. He realized that it was time to educate himself. Although he was already working with two parishes in African American communities, he decided that he wanted to take a more strategic approach to social …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[5 Jun 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Sorie Tarawally

June 4, 2012

Sorie Tarawally is a dual citizen, sharing national pride between his native Sierra Leone and his new home, the United States. He came to this country in 1972 after graduating high school in his home city Freetown, and his first stop was a bachelor’s degree at Rutgers University in New Jersey. Sorie knew he wanted to to pursue a law degree, and looked at a variety of law schools across the southeast.
 
The University of Mississippi (Ole Miss) was his final choice; he was aware of the 1962 riots on …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[31 May 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Roberta Avila

May 30, 2012
Social justice activism just makes sense to Roberta Avila. In a way, it’s always been a part of her life. Her parents emigrated to the US as farm workers during a time when the borders were quite porous; they lived and worked in a small community in Colorado. Though they themselves weren’t migrants, they were always connected with temporary workers, and Roberta recalls the compassion her parents extended to those who were struggling to survive, even as they faced their own difficulties.
 
While she was still young, her brother Magdaleno …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[14 May 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Brenda Scott

That night, Brenda Scott was tired. She’d had a long day working in the Vicksburg distribution center for Women Infants and Children (WIC). Though her work was demanding, the pay was so low that she needed to take on a second job just to get ahead. So when she finished her shift at WIC, she headed to Domino’s Pizza, where she was supposed to work a delivery shift until early morning hours. But that day she decided she was just too exhausted and stressed, and needed to go home for …