Maison » Archives

Articles in the faces of MIRA Category

les mesures à prendre, événements, visages de MIRA »

[7 Juin 2013 | No Comment | ]
State Rep. Gregory Holloway makes surprise visit at MIRA Community Circle Meeting in Hazlehurst, Miss.

Immigrés locaux à Hazlehurst récemment eu une bonne surprise visiter par le représentant État Gregory L. Holloway, Sr. lors de la réunion du cercle communautaire organisé par le Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance à Hazlehurst samedi, Le 22 mai. Représentant de l'État Holloway, Sr., un ami de longue date et un allié du Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance et un membre clé du Mississippi législatif Black Caucus, fait la visite surprise à la taqueria locale, encourageant avec enthousiasme le petit rassemblement d'immigrants hispanophones à ne pas avoir peur de devenir politiquement plus engagés dans leur communauté locale.
Représentant de l'Etat …

visages de MIRA, Titre »

[20 Mar 2013 | No Comment | ]
True Life Stories from Immigrants Engaging their Legislators

 
By MIRA Organizer Juan Carlos Cook
23 janvier, 2013
“Me? Talk to a gringo politician…in that building? Are you kidding me?” There was a suspicious quaver in the husky voice. The 20-something Felipe de la O, a strapping six-foot one construction worker with rugged muscles, refused to believe that he could step inside the Mississippi State Capitol in Jackson, without being immediately detained and carted off by immigration authorities at the front entrance. But after seeing that his girlfriend, Leticia, wasn’t backing down, de la O reluctantly changed his mind and, consumed by trepidation, …

les mesures à prendre, événements, visages de MIRA »

[28 Jan 2013 | No Comment | ]
Civic Engagement Day Statement, January 23, 2013

Par Juan Carlos Cook,, Organisateur, MIRA
Janvier 26, 2013
Le président Barack Obama a été très clair lors de son discours d'investiture, lundi, que la réforme de l'immigration est déjà une pièce maîtresse de son second mandat ordre du jour.
Dans les semaines à venir, le président devrait pousser énergiquement sur les moyens de créer une voie éventuelle à la citoyenneté pour l'estimation 11 million de sans-papiers déjà dans ce pays.
Majorité au Sénat Harry Reid a déclaré lors d'une récente interview que l'immigration réforme a été la question la plus importante sur le calendrier du Sénat.
Nous sommes tous des résidents des États-Unis d' …

visages de MIRA, Sélection »

[21 Juin 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Father Jerry Tobin

Père Jerry Tobin a été ordonné dans le ministère dans les années 1960 à Chicago. Il était un jeune homme alors, et se trouva totalement pris de court par le mouvement des droits civiques qui montait autour de lui. Il décrit qu'il, comme la plupart des Blancs à l'époque, a été maintenue totalement ignorante des injustices et des inégalités que les Afro-Américains face. Il s'est rendu compte qu'il était temps de se former. Bien qu'il travaillait déjà avec deux paroisses dans les communautés afro-américaines, il a décidé qu'il voulait adopter une approche plus stratégique de la sociale …

visages de MIRA, Sélection »

[5 Juin 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Sorie Tarawally

Juin 4, 2012

Sorie est Tarawally a la double nationalité, partager la fierté nationale entre son pays natal, la Sierra Leone et sa nouvelle maison, États-Unis. Il est venu dans ce pays en 1972 après ses études secondaires dans sa ville natale Freetown, et son premier arrêt était titulaire d'un baccalauréat à l'Université Rutgers dans le New Jersey. Sorie savait qu'il voulait poursuivre un diplôme en droit, et regardé une variété d'écoles de droit à travers le sud-est.
 
L'Université du Mississippi (Ole Miss) c'était son choix final; il était au courant de l' 1962 riots on

visages de MIRA, Sélection »

[31 Mai 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Roberta Avila

Mai 30, 2012
Activisme de la justice sociale tout à fait logique de Roberta Avila. D'une certaine manière, ça a toujours été une partie de sa vie. Ses parents ont émigré aux États-Unis comme travailleurs agricoles à une époque où les frontières étaient assez poreux; ils vivaient et travaillaient dans une petite communauté dans le Colorado. Bien qu'ils étaient eux-mêmes ne migrants, ils ont toujours été liés à des travailleurs temporaires, et Roberta rappelle la compassion à ses parents étendus à ceux qui luttaient pour survivre, même si ils ont fait face à leurs propres difficultés.
 
Alors qu'elle était encore jeune, défi frère Magdaleno …

visages de MIRA, Sélection »

[14 Mai 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Brenda Scott

Cette nuit-là, Brenda Scott était fatigué. Elle avait eu une longue journée de travail dans le centre de distribution de Vicksburg pour femmes nourrissons et les enfants (WIC). Bien que son travail était exigeant, le salaire était si faible qu'elle avait besoin de prendre un deuxième emploi juste pour prendre de l'avance. Alors, quand elle a terminé son quart de travail à WIC, elle a dirigé à Pizza Domino, où elle devait travailler un quart de livraison jusqu'à ce que les premières heures de la matinée. Mais ce jour-là, elle a décidé qu'elle était trop épuisée et a souligné, et devait rentrer à la maison pour …

Home » Archive

Articles in the faces of MIRA Category

action items, events, faces of MIRA »

[7 Jun 2013 | No Comment | ]
State Rep. Gregory Holloway makes surprise visit at MIRA Community Circle Meeting in Hazlehurst, Miss.

Local immigrants in Hazlehurst recently had a surprise welcome visit by State Representative Gregory L. Holloway, Sr. at the Community Circle Meeting hosted by the Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance in Hazlehurst on Saturday, May 22nd. State Representative Holloway, Sr., a longtime friend and ally of the Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance and a key member of the Mississippi Legislative Black Caucus, made the surprise visit at the local taqueria, enthusiastically encouraging the small gathering of Spanish-speaking immigrants to not be afraid to become more politically engaged in their local community.
State Representative …

faces of MIRA, Headline »

[20 Mar 2013 | No Comment | ]
True Life Stories from Immigrants Engaging their Legislators

 
By MIRA Organizer Juan Carlos Cook
January 23rd, 2013
“Me? Talk to a gringo politician…in that building? Are you kidding me?” There was a suspicious quaver in the husky voice. The 20-something Felipe de la O, a strapping six-foot one construction worker with rugged muscles, refused to believe that he could step inside the Mississippi State Capitol in Jackson, without being immediately detained and carted off by immigration authorities at the front entrance. But after seeing that his girlfriend, Leticia, wasn’t backing down, de la O reluctantly changed his mind and, consumed by trepidation, …

action items, events, faces of MIRA »

[28 Jan 2013 | No Comment | ]
Civic Engagement Day Statement, January 23, 2013

By Juan Carlos Cook, Organizer, MIRA
January 26, 2013
President Barack Obama made it very clear during his inaugural address on Monday that immigration reform is already a centerpiece of his second-term agenda.
In the coming weeks the president is expected to aggressively push for ways to create an eventual pathway to citizenship for the estimated 11 million undocumented immigrants already in this country.
Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid said during a recent interview that immigration reform was the most important issue on the Senate’s schedule.
We are all residents of the United States of …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[21 Jun 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Father Jerry Tobin

Father Jerry Tobin was ordained into the ministry in the1960s in Chicago. He was a young man then, and found himself totally taken aback by the Civil Rights movement that was rising up around him. He describes that he, like most white people at the time, was kept totally ignorant of the injustices and inequalities that African-Americans faced. He realized that it was time to educate himself. Although he was already working with two parishes in African American communities, he decided that he wanted to take a more strategic approach to social …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[5 Jun 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Sorie Tarawally

June 4, 2012

Sorie Tarawally is a dual citizen, sharing national pride between his native Sierra Leone and his new home, the United States. He came to this country in 1972 after graduating high school in his home city Freetown, and his first stop was a bachelor’s degree at Rutgers University in New Jersey. Sorie knew he wanted to to pursue a law degree, and looked at a variety of law schools across the southeast.
 
The University of Mississippi (Ole Miss) was his final choice; he was aware of the 1962 riots on …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[31 May 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Roberta Avila

May 30, 2012
Social justice activism just makes sense to Roberta Avila. In a way, it’s always been a part of her life. Her parents emigrated to the US as farm workers during a time when the borders were quite porous; they lived and worked in a small community in Colorado. Though they themselves weren’t migrants, they were always connected with temporary workers, and Roberta recalls the compassion her parents extended to those who were struggling to survive, even as they faced their own difficulties.
 
While she was still young, her brother Magdaleno …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[14 May 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Brenda Scott

That night, Brenda Scott was tired. She’d had a long day working in the Vicksburg distribution center for Women Infants and Children (WIC). Though her work was demanding, the pay was so low that she needed to take on a second job just to get ahead. So when she finished her shift at WIC, she headed to Domino’s Pizza, where she was supposed to work a delivery shift until early morning hours. But that day she decided she was just too exhausted and stressed, and needed to go home for …