» 存档

文章MIRA类别的面孔

行动项目, 事件, 面MIRA »

[7 六月 2013 | 没有评论 | ]
State Rep. Gregory Holloway makes surprise visit at MIRA Community Circle Meeting in Hazlehurst, Miss.

本地在黑泽尔赫斯特移民最近有一个惊喜,欢迎访问国家代表格雷戈里ł. 霍洛威, 锶. 在密西西比河Hazlehurst的移民权益联盟上周六举办的社区圈会议, 5月22日. 国家代表霍洛威, 老, 长期的朋友和盟友的密西西比河移民权益联盟和密西西比河立法黑人核心小组的主要成员, 在当地Taqueria的突访, 讲西班牙语的移民,不要害怕成为在当地社区更积极参与政治热情鼓励小型聚会.
国家代表 …

面MIRA, 标题 »

[20 海 2013 | 没有评论 | ]
True Life Stories from Immigrants Engaging their Legislators

 
米拉主办胡安·卡洛斯·库克
1月23日, 2013
“我? 与一个外国政治家在该建筑物? 你在开玩笑吧?“有一个可疑的沙哑的声音颤抖. 20岁的费利佩·德·Ø, 一个身材魁梧的六脚一建筑工人坚固的肌肉, 拒绝相信他能进到里面,密西西比州州议会大厦在杰克逊, 没有被立即拘留,并在正门被移民当局运走. 但是,在看到他的女朋友, 莱蒂西亚, 不退缩, 德拉Ø不情愿地改变了他的主意, 所消耗的诚惶诚恐, …

行动项目, 事件, 面MIRA »

[28 一月 2013 | 没有评论 | ]
Civic Engagement Day Statement, January 23, 2013

胡安·卡洛斯·库克, 组织者, MIRA
一月 26, 2013
美国总统奥巴马说得很清楚,在他的就职演说上周一,移民改革已经是他的第二任期的议程的核心.
预计在未来的几周内,总统积极推动的估计方法来创建最终获得公民身份的途径 11 万非法移民已经在这个国家.
参议院多数党领袖里德(Harry Reid)在最近的一次采访中说,移民改革是最重要的问题在参议院的日程安排.
我们是所有美国居民 …

面MIRA, 精选 »

[21 六月 2012 | 没有评论 | ]
In Profile: Father Jerry Tobin

父亲杰里·托宾在芝加哥世纪60年代到部受戒. 他是一名年轻男子,然后, 发现自己完全吃了一惊民权运动,他周围的上升。他介绍,他, 当时最喜欢白色的人, 保持完全无知,非裔美国人面临的不公正和不平等. 他意识到,这是时间来教育自己,虽然他已经有两个教区在非洲裔社区工作, 他决定,他希望社会采取更具战略性的方法 …

面MIRA, 精选 »

[5 六月 2012 | 没有评论 | ]
In Profile: Sorie Tarawally

六月 4, 2012

Sorie Tarawally是一个双重公民, 他的祖国塞拉利昂和他的新家里之间共享的民族自豪感, 美国. 他来到这个国家, 1972 高中毕业后,在他的家乡弗里敦, 他的第一站是在新泽西州罗格斯大学的学士学位. Sorie知道他想追求一个法律学位, 看着各种各样的法律学校相望,东南.
 
密西西比大学 (好极了小姐) 是他最终的选择; 他是知道的 1962 骚乱 …

面MIRA, 精选 »

[31 五月 2012 | 没有评论 | ]
In Profile: Roberta Avila

五月 30, 2012
社会司法激进主义很有道理的罗伯塔·阿维拉. 在某种程度上,, 它一直是她生活的一部分,她的父母移民到美国的时候,农场工人的边界相当多孔; 他们在科罗拉多州生活和工作在一个小社区. 虽然他们自己没有移民, 他们总是与临时工, 罗伯塔回忆她的父母的同情延伸到那些为生存而挣扎的, 即使他们面对自己的困难.
 
虽然她还年轻, 挑战哥哥马格达莱诺的 …

面MIRA, 精选 »

[14 五月 2012 | 没有评论 | ]
In Profile: Brenda Scott

那天晚上,, 布伦达·斯科特是累. 她工作了一整天在维克斯堡配送中心为妇女,婴幼儿和儿童 (WIC). 虽然她的工作要求, 薪酬是如此之低,她需要采取第二份工作,只是为了获得提前. 所以,当她完成移WIC, 她为首的达美乐披萨, 她应该工作交付移,直到清晨. 但是,这一天,她决定,她只是太累了,并强调, 需要回家 …

Home » Archive

Articles in the faces of MIRA Category

action items, events, faces of MIRA »

[7 Jun 2013 | No Comment | ]
State Rep. Gregory Holloway makes surprise visit at MIRA Community Circle Meeting in Hazlehurst, Miss.

Local immigrants in Hazlehurst recently had a surprise welcome visit by State Representative Gregory L. Holloway, Sr. at the Community Circle Meeting hosted by the Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance in Hazlehurst on Saturday, May 22nd. State Representative Holloway, Sr., a longtime friend and ally of the Mississippi Immigrants Rights Alliance and a key member of the Mississippi Legislative Black Caucus, made the surprise visit at the local taqueria, enthusiastically encouraging the small gathering of Spanish-speaking immigrants to not be afraid to become more politically engaged in their local community.
State Representative …

faces of MIRA, Headline »

[20 Mar 2013 | No Comment | ]
True Life Stories from Immigrants Engaging their Legislators

 
By MIRA Organizer Juan Carlos Cook
January 23rd, 2013
“Me? Talk to a gringo politician…in that building? Are you kidding me?” There was a suspicious quaver in the husky voice. The 20-something Felipe de la O, a strapping six-foot one construction worker with rugged muscles, refused to believe that he could step inside the Mississippi State Capitol in Jackson, without being immediately detained and carted off by immigration authorities at the front entrance. But after seeing that his girlfriend, Leticia, wasn’t backing down, de la O reluctantly changed his mind and, consumed by trepidation, …

action items, events, faces of MIRA »

[28 Jan 2013 | No Comment | ]
Civic Engagement Day Statement, January 23, 2013

By Juan Carlos Cook, Organizer, MIRA
January 26, 2013
President Barack Obama made it very clear during his inaugural address on Monday that immigration reform is already a centerpiece of his second-term agenda.
In the coming weeks the president is expected to aggressively push for ways to create an eventual pathway to citizenship for the estimated 11 million undocumented immigrants already in this country.
Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid said during a recent interview that immigration reform was the most important issue on the Senate’s schedule.
We are all residents of the United States of …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[21 Jun 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Father Jerry Tobin

Father Jerry Tobin was ordained into the ministry in the1960s in Chicago. He was a young man then, and found himself totally taken aback by the Civil Rights movement that was rising up around him. He describes that he, like most white people at the time, was kept totally ignorant of the injustices and inequalities that African-Americans faced. He realized that it was time to educate himself. Although he was already working with two parishes in African American communities, he decided that he wanted to take a more strategic approach to social …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[5 Jun 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Sorie Tarawally

June 4, 2012

Sorie Tarawally is a dual citizen, sharing national pride between his native Sierra Leone and his new home, the United States. He came to this country in 1972 after graduating high school in his home city Freetown, and his first stop was a bachelor’s degree at Rutgers University in New Jersey. Sorie knew he wanted to to pursue a law degree, and looked at a variety of law schools across the southeast.
 
The University of Mississippi (Ole Miss) was his final choice; he was aware of the 1962 riots on …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[31 May 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Roberta Avila

May 30, 2012
Social justice activism just makes sense to Roberta Avila. In a way, it’s always been a part of her life. Her parents emigrated to the US as farm workers during a time when the borders were quite porous; they lived and worked in a small community in Colorado. Though they themselves weren’t migrants, they were always connected with temporary workers, and Roberta recalls the compassion her parents extended to those who were struggling to survive, even as they faced their own difficulties.
 
While she was still young, her brother Magdaleno …

faces of MIRA, Featured »

[14 May 2012 | No Comment | ]
In Profile: Brenda Scott

That night, Brenda Scott was tired. She’d had a long day working in the Vicksburg distribution center for Women Infants and Children (WIC). Though her work was demanding, the pay was so low that she needed to take on a second job just to get ahead. So when she finished her shift at WIC, she headed to Domino’s Pizza, where she was supposed to work a delivery shift until early morning hours. But that day she decided she was just too exhausted and stressed, and needed to go home for …